On August 2, 2017, President Trump signed into law the Countering America’s Adversaries Through Sanctions Act of 2017 (the “Act”).  The measure, which was passed by substantial bipartisan majorities in the House and in the Senate, codifies certain sanctions previously imposed by Executive Order (“E.O.”), provides for new sanctions with respect to Iran, Russia, and North Korea, and establishes new congressional review procedures for terminating or waiving sanctions against Russia.

Read the Full Memo »