On June 17, 2020, President Trump signed into law the Uyghur Human Rights Policy Act of 2020 (the “Act”). The Act requires the President to submit to Congress within 180 days a report identifying persons responsible for human rights abuses in Xinjiang, and to impose blocking and visa sanctions against the persons identified in the report. The Act is intended to respond to human rights violations, including the mass surveillance and internment of Uyghurs and other predominately Muslim ethnic minorities in the Xinjiang Uyghur Autonomous Region of China and elsewhere in China.

Please see our client memorandum for further details on the Act.


View as a PDF